Founder Of ISRO: Vikram Sarabhai


Founder Of ISRO: Vikram Sarabhai

By- Sanjana Arora

Vikram Ambalal Sarabhai was an Indian scientist, physicist, and astronomer. He was born on 12th August 1919 in Ahmedabad. Son of Ambalal Sarabhai, he came from the famous Sarabhai family of India who were major industrialists committed to the Indian independence movement. Vikram Sarabhai married the classical dancer Mrinalini in 1942.

The couple had two children. His daughter Mallika gained prominence as an actress and activist, and his son Kartikeya too became an active person in science. During his lifetime, he practiced Jainism. Dr. Sarabhai is considered as the Father of the Indian space program; He was a great institution builder and established or helped to establish a large number of institutions in diverse fields. He was instrumental in establishing the Physical Research Laboratory (PRL) in Ahmedabad.Vikram Sarabhai founded the Physical Research Laboratory (PRL) in Ahmedabad on November 11, 1947.Vikram Sarabhai served of PRL from 1966-1971. He was also Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission.

He along with other Ahmedabad-based industrialists played a major role in the creation of the Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad. Dr. Sarabhai started a project for the fabrication and launch of an Indian Satellite. As a result, the first Indian satellite, Aryabhata, was put in orbit in 1975 from a Russian Cosmodrome.  Dr. Sarabhai was very interested in science education and founded a Community Science Centre at Ahmedabad in 1966. Today, the Centre is called the Vikram A Sarabhai Community Science Centre


  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award (1962)
  • Padma Bhushan (1966)
  • Padma Vibhushan, posthumous (after-death) (1972)
  • Distinguished Position

Distinguished positions

1: President of the Physics section, Indian Science Congress (1962)

2: President of the General Conference of the I.A.E.A., Verína (1970)

3:Vice-President, Fourth U.N. Conference on ‘Peaceful uses of Atomic Energy’ (1971)


1: The Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, (VSSC), a research institute specialising in solid and liquid propellants for rockets located in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), capital of Kerala state, is named in his memory.

2: In 1974, the International Astronomical Union at Sydney decided that a Moon Crater BESSEL in the Sea of Serenity will be known as the Sarabhai Crater.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top